So seeing how Kristie was talking about her TRI experience with her sister Jen, I thought I can write something about myself and the same TRI they did. For the longest time, I had a great fear of water being above my head - like I would feel suffocate, I might drown, I can't breathe and plus tragedy stuck our family when my cousin mysteriously drowned and he was on a swim team. And at one time - I was at a picnic and the canoe tipped over and I went under - I thought my days were over at the age of 21. So I tried many times to overcome my fear and it was not working. I was going to give. Then I started surfing the net and came across this place called Gypsy Divers Aquatic Center and it is a 4 to 1 ratio and have adult classes. I met up with Ed who has been my instructor since 1.5 yrs ago. I would get panic attacks at really did not enjoy class but Ed knows exactly how to keep you in your comfort zone and get you out of it without you realizing it. He encouraged me to enter a race where I can set my goals of learning to swim as well as continue practice.I thought he was crazy but in retrospect, it was the best thing - because I would go to the pool and stick to the shallow end and practice and then we I come to class we would go to the deep end with him right next to me. He said to me "let yourself go, you know I am right here, I would never let anything happen to you"
So I signed up for the Rambling Rose Triathlon which includes swim, bike and run and an all women event. I also signed up for the training program at the Finley Y. The first question the coaches ask what is your weakness - SWIM! All I can say , every time we go to the pool to do the practice - it was hard and scary for me and I would grasp for air. So now what? I went and did some private lessons with Pat at the Y as well - she is a super duper Master Swim coach - She said to me "Sue, when you start to get out your zone, calm down and bring yourself back" And that helped me get through the butterfly stage when I get into the pool with her.
SO the day of the event like Kristie was like wait and wait and wait and since when I signed up, I did not know how to swim, I put myself as a 1 which is low on the totem pole. I don't know how many times I had to go to the bathroom. I watched the 10 swimmers and I said I can't watch this - getting nervous. By the time it was my turn - there were people walking the pool, hanging out the pool, resting in the middle, stopping in front of me, someone coming at me. It was total chaos yet it was OK for me. I actually swam 6 lengths nonstop before I had to stop and seeing the others - I have conquer what I intended - to swim and not be scared crapless.
So what is my next step? I want to do the same TRI next year and see if I can improve on my swim. How am I suppose to do that? I am going to continue swim lessons and maybe if I can do it - be part of the TRI club - and ultimately what do I want to do? An Open Swim.
I want to someday swim freely and not worry about being scared and grabbing the lane lines or stop and need to touch bottom to be safe.
More to come on the rest of the race - next post