So last posting I was talking about exercising, running, and why I do what I do. I would say growing up, girls did not exercise. We suppose to sit there and look pretty and graceful so some guy can sweep you off your feet. Being of woman of size and being Asian, that did not happen. So growing up in the environment was rough. I think I am finally realzing that I need to do what is right for me and noone else. I guess that rock hit me.
So during the week, I would exercise twice a day and I have a feeling this is tiring me out too too much and that is why my sleep is suffering. I thought if I was dead tired, but I think I am thinking too much into it. So today, I visit a sleep doctor and he has given me some homework to do. I think it is total bullshit but I will give it a try for 2 months.
This week has many changes. My swim instructor of 2.5 years is moving away. I will truly miss him. When I first started lessons with him, I was so fearful of the deep end and anywhere where I cannot touch. Now, today, I can acutally swim all the way down and back - a full 50. I will need to be diligent and practice on my own.
My personal training is going well. I love my trainer and I am seeing a new me, not just the physical but as well as the emotional. With that mindset to push myself, I have taken that to doing my best, trying my hardest - Classes like Sparta, Tiger's Eye and Warrior and any of their Vinyasa at ARRICHION HOT YOGA is hard as shit. I am starting to notice results more than ever - perhaps it is a more confident me coming out. I actually said THANK YOU when someone complimented me - Wow!
Like I said, I exercise like a fiend because 1) I can't sleep 2) I am afraid of getting fucking fat all over again.
This week, I did something that I felt good - I helped my friend again. I am always there for her to hear her vent, to listen to her, to bullshit with her and I am cool with that- I ask nothing in return.
This past weekend I did a dish that was real simple with very little ingredients and it was perfect:
BAKED CORNISH HENS with carrots, and onions with sweet potatoes side dish.
- Went to BJ's and got 2 cornish hens - half them -
- Cut up carrots, I actually used baby carrots
- Cut up onions - I used the purple onions
I made a mixture of:
- dark soy sauce
- agave nectar - maybe I left this out -
- fresh garlic crushed and minced
- fresh ginger minced
- fresh rosemary that has been dried
- sesame oil - dash
- coconut oil - 1 tsp
I laid everything in a casserole dish - and pour the mixture and now to think of it , there was no added sugar or salt, and oils were used so sparringly and it was more for flavor
Baked it at 400 - with foil on - and then lifted the foil to brown - I don't know timeframe - until it is done - but not dry.
Sliced sweet potatoes as side dish
Simple as that.
I went to Bone Fish Grill last night and you know from my last few posting - I made a kick ass red snapper dish. Well, the fish was good at Bone Fish - but I said to myself- Hey , I cook better than this - I guess like with my exercise, I am finally becoming braver at realizing my skills as a cook. I had so many people say they love my food and I would just say = Oh it is not good! Maybe it is.
Thanks for reading my blog!
If you ever want some recipe creation let me know - I can give it a try
I reproduced szchuan green beans and my friend liked it
Take care until next time
Sue
No comments:
Post a Comment