Running is hard! Running hurts! Running was certainly not fun for me! Then in July,2009, a friend and I signed up for Women's running program ultimately in 10 weeks to do a 5K as part of our graduation. I met the nicest people there and been keeping up with my running though never reach that runner's high. People asked if I would ever do a 10K a half marathon, or full marathon and I would say "No, not for me!" I guess reason being that I was scared that I might never finish it.
Then I met Laura who has done marathons, other races and we were running together one day and she said "Sue, we should do one together, it is lots of fun" I said "I can't do 13 miles, it is hard" And she said "what is the worst thing that can happen, we walk and as long we finish, that is all there is to it"
I went home thinking about it and oh my goodness - she is right, I can do this - I think I will! I went to work and told Tom and he said "Go for it"
Laura has put a bug in my ear - I am very excited as I am thinking and writing about it.
So tomorrow morning - I will meet Laura - and we are going to a walk around the lake -
Laura is a fantastic person - she has given me a newer meaning to running - I don't have to be fast, I just have to keep at it.
I think I can do this!
Thanks, Laura,
that is great. I have lots friends around me that do full marathon and triathlon. That is what got me into running. I am still nowhere near them (the distance and the speed) but I am better than I was 6 months ago.
ReplyDelete